PBA Media Awards    

The PBA Media Awards (formerly known as the William A. Schnader Print Media Awards) were established more than 35 years ago by the Pennsylvania Bar Association to recognize journalistic excellence in news and feature reporting of the legal system and its operations. The competition also honors editorial and commentary writing.

PBA Media Awards recognize journalists who accomplish the following through their writing:

  • Foster greater public understanding of our legal system
  • Inform and educate citizens as to the roles of society and the law, the courts, law enforcement agencies and the legal profession
  • Disclose practices or procedures needing correction or improvement so as to encourage and promote efforts to improve and modernize our laws, courts and law enforcement agencies

The competition is funded by the law firm of Pietragallo Gordon Alfano Bosick & Raspanti LLP and is coordinated by the Pennsylvania Bar Association Bar/Press Committee.

2017 Entry Rules, Categories for Journalists 

2017 Online Entry Form for Journalists

2017 Call for Nominations from PBA Members

Past Award Winners

The PBA Media Awards are sponsored by: